Griffin iPhone 4/4s Case Review

Standard

Although I realize the latest greatest thing is to own an iPhone 5S, or 5C, I have just come into possession of a new white Verizon iPhone 4S (and I’m plenty happy with it). One of the first things I do upon getting a new device is to slip it into a new protective case (with screen option). Some may call this an unnecessary measure, but we’ll see who has a better resale or trade in value when all is said and done.

I have realized that finding a case for the previous model is extremely difficult (although we do know iPhone had to cancel the 5 due to infringement issues). Anyway, because I was in a pinch, I decided to go with a Survivor case in gray/yellow by Griffin Technology. I believe I picked it up at Walmart for $39 right in the Christmas rush.

Survivor Case for iPhone 4/4s by Griffin Technology

Let me just say, at the time I had an 8 month old daughter who loves phones, I needed something that could handle being thrown on the floor purposefully. This case does that flawlessly and protects my phone. It remains scratch, bump and bruise free. The case itself clicks apart into three pieces (or four if you count the detachable camera cover). But I should say it is not waterproof, just semi moisture proof. When I’m running through the store on grocery day and my daughter is chewing on it, slobber easily gets under the screen protector.

But we carry these devices for phone calls, right? At least, I do. One issue I have with this case is I regularly receive complaints, from those on the other end of the phone, that they cannot hear me or I sound muffled. It isn’t my phone service itself, because if I take the phone out of the case I don’t have any problems. So on a side note, it can be super hard to pull apart the pieces while you’re on an important phone call.

Compared to the Otterbox Defender (I don’t have one, but my husband does) the Griffin Survivor case is easier to grip and the buttons are easier to access and press. The Defender comes apart by unlocking two hinges while the Survivor requires more effort and time to pull apart three pieces. The Survivor doesn’t dent my laminate flooring. The Defender doesn’t muffle calls when you open up the waterproof speaker tab, but the Survivor isn’t waterproof.

I try to be a realistic individual, so on a range of one to five stars I’d give the Griffin four (while the Otterbox would receive four and a half). Yes, it may muffle some calls, but it hasn’t slipped out of my hand while in use, and it takes the abuse of a soon to be famous pitcher of a baby.

Leave a Reply

