One Year

Standard

When I woke up this morning I didn’t put much thought towards the day. The entire United States set aside time yesterday to celebrate our National holiday of becoming a “free” Country. And as I sit here, scanning over emails and eating my yogurt, I realized I have officially worked here for a year.

My life’s motto has been “If you don’t like something, change it”. And although it seems rather straight forward, it can apply to many different aspects on my own personal level. Starting here was a huge step from where I have been in the past, all products of attempting to change a situation to better myself, and my career.

I started out working in the family business, like many teenagers do when their Dad owns something. But I had an actual job description, rather than dusting shelves and standing around awkwardly as customers walked through the door. Many employers told me they didn’t consider a family business a real “job”… but those people didn’t know my parents. My bank account didn’t magically fill up with money unless I really applied myself to my position.

After I worked there for four or five years, while I was attending community college, I was hired for a job in Dalton at a carpet wholesaler. My main function was originally was web designer and photographer, which quickly transformed into sales, customer service and secretarial duties. And while I drove an hour in a car without heat, air conditioning or working windows, I still only earned a measly $7.25/hour.

They say you should never badmouth bad employers, past or present, so I’ll move on. After I had worked in Dalton for one year and five months, I took a part time job at Food Lion as a “break” for rejuvenation. It was a simple job as a cashier, mostly working late nights and staying afterwards to help with cleaning and reorganizing stray items throughout the store. Even though it wasn’t a full time position, it was nearly just a stressful as my previous duties had been. After two months I received a phone call that would ironically change an unhappy situation for me.

On July 5th, 2011 I officially began working here in Lafayette, for a hardwood flooring distributor as web designer, sales, customer service, photographer etc. I have entered orders, processed credit cards, troubleshooted industrial printers and even measured moisture levels in a single plank of hardwood. It’s had it’s ups and downs, and I can’t really complain in comparison to where I was a year ago. And while I’m not completely happy with where I am now, it’s allowed me to buy a house and afford central heating and air.

I still drive the same green 1996 Volkswagen Jetta GLS as I did in my Dalton days. A few more windows have quit functioning, but the moon roof still opens, and I’m grateful in our 104 degree weather. The dash leaks when it rains, and we’ve had to remove the panel form the passenger’s door attempting to repair the window.

Where will I go from here? I’m not sure. Life has a way of putting a stone in your path, and I’m hopeful to the future and where I’ll be taken from here.

Leave a Reply

