Georgia Teams with Google

Standard

I love to keep up with local news, especially when it’s as good as this. Some of you may not understand the importance of a good quality url and web site, but what’s even better is when it features waived fees. The state of Georgia has teamed up with Google to offer free web sites!

There are many small businesses across the state that do not have a web site. Intuit is offered as the platform, providing a simple way for those owners to build the site themselves, or use a premade template. But why shouldn’t you take it a bit further?

Personally, I have been unable to afford the domain fee, and hosting fee to get my design freelancing off the ground. I create web sites, graphics, logos and email marketing campaigns and the like. Having the ability to nab my own corner of the web could be exactly what I need to get clients.

Although they have a good setup for you, Intuit also allows file uploading and publishing through a hard to locate menu. From there I have noticed they adapt using an .xpf format to prevent security risks. Having created my own index.htm with Dreamweaver I only had to create a redirect through the .xpf index, and viola.

Whether you are a designer, entrepreneur or small business owner, this could be a good opportunity to get your leg up on the local competition. For the time being, harness the power of their layouts, and pay a designer later on once you’ve made some money. Please don’t expect it to flash up on Google rankings without the proper length of wait time.

Not only will you receive waved domain fees, but you’ll also have it hosted free for a year! I know, it doesn’t take much to get a geek like me really, super excited!

Participate by visiting Georgia Get Online today! Note that you do not have to register to take a class if you don’t want to, simply follow the link I’ve provided and you’ll be on your way to owning a great, free site!

Leave a Reply

